Bulldog Men's Golf Receives Five All-SCIAC Nods

Bulldog Men's Golf Receives Five All-SCIAC Nods

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) released the All-SCIAC awards for men's golf on Tuesday and included five members of the eighth-ranked team from the University of Redlands. Senior Alex Stroes (San Marcos, CA) makes it onto the First Team for the third time in his career, while junior Jake Hollander (Peterborough, NH) gains his second appearance.  In addition, senior Cade Lawson (Lake Oswego, OR) and first-year Kyle Sharp (Austin, TX) earn their first nods as members of the First Team. Junior Cameron Cooper (Seattle, WA) receives Second-Team recognition for the second consecutive season. In addition, Sharp was named the 2019 SCIAC Newcomer of the Year.

Stroes consistently served as the top golfer for the Bulldogs with an average of 73.6 through six rounds of SCIAC competition. His best performance came on the second day of the conference tournament, as he shot the lowest of the round with a 70 on his way to a fourth-place tie with a 54-hole score of 220.

Hollander made his impact early with a season-low round of 70 en route to a first-place performance of 142 at the SCIAC No. 1 Tournament. For the season, Hollander shot 518 for a seven-round average of 74.0 in conference competition.

With their first appearances on the All-Conference teams, Lawson produced an average score of 73.71, while Sharp averaged 74.42. In round one of the SCIAC Championships, Lawson turned in his season-low score of 72 to propel him to a three-round tally of 223. Sharp enjoyed his lowest score of 71 on the final day, which led to his total of 219.

Furthermore, Cooper repeated his lowest round of 71 on three separate occasions, including in back-to-back days at the SCIAC No. 2Tournament. For the season, he registered a score of 523 for an average of 74.71 in seven SCIAC rounds.

For a complete list of this year's All-SCIAC teams, please visit the organization's website.

Redlands will wait for a possible at-large bid to the NCAA Division III Championships, which begin on Tuesday, May 14, in Nicholsville, Kentucky.